Celebrating Growth: The YES and the STARTING TO

“Now I confer with students on writing not technology. ”
Love this quote from ‘Celebrating Growth: The YES and the STARTING TO’ with a focus on the Units of Study from TCRWP by Lucy Calkins.
#PLN #PD

To Read To Write To Be

Today I’m celebrating the growth I see in my students. We have only a few weeks left together and it seems to be culminating in a beautiful way.

Every year at this time, we focus on Colonial America. Stidents have visited a colonial village  and witnessed reenactments, watched videos, read, talked and researched a specific area of interest.  This is all in preparation for next week, when our 5th grade students take our school back in time to colonial days. They set up “booths” to teach youngers about life back in time.  I have done this work for the past 11 years, and each year brings different students and a slightly different me to the project. This year for the first time, they blogged their learning.

When we started blogging at the beginning of the year, there were lots of bumps. Learning the technology and overcoming problems was how I spent a lot of my conferring time. I worried was…

View original post 339 more words

Leave a Reply

