How to Engage Your Strongest Readers

image from etsy

This summer, I was lucky enough to be inn the presence of Mary Ehrenworth at Teachers College as she gave us strategies for how to support our strongest readers.  Inspired by her words and knowing that I would have readers that were well beyond their years, I decided to put her words into action.  But what did it look like in the classroom?

I met with them frequently.  All kids had one to one with me at least every other week depending on what we were doing.  This meant I knew what every kid was reading and working on.  I also met with them in small groups or in partner ships.  They pushed each other’s thinking just as much as they pushed mine.

We revisited ideas.  Too often their initial ideas were good, but not deep thinking.  In the past I would have been happy with…

View original post 510 more words

Leave a Reply

