Breathing Anchor Charts

TEaCHitivity

I finally had a chance to try an idea this summer during our literacy summer school and wanted to quickly share before the new year. We use anchor charts all the time – math, reading, writing, etc… Like everyone else, anchor charts are great because we build them together as a class and it anchors important concepts or strategies on a chart for students to use as a resource. However, as much as I wish and hope my kids are using the charts, they’re really not taking advantage of them. Honestly, I sometimes feel like my anchor charts are tacky wallpaper to them. So I’m always asking myself, how can the iPads help do something great that we couldn’t do without them?

I thought it would increase the value of anchor charts if they “came alive” and became breathing anchor charts. So picture this: a student looks at a reading anchor chart…

View original post 219 more words

Leave a Reply

